Cancer Prevention Laurels: Celebrating 8 Years of Award Winners!

Published on October 7, 2010

Updated on February 13, 2018

Each year for the past 8 years, the Prevent Cancer Foundation has presented Laurels awards to innovators and leaders in the fight against cancer. This event began in 2003 as a means of both recognizing and celebrating leaders in cancer prevention. The laurel was chosen because it is an ancient Roman symbol of tribute, honor, victory, merit, and reward. In 2009, the National Colorectal Cancer Roundtable joined the Foundation as a co-sponsor of the awards.

Again, at the 2011 Dialogue for Action® on Colorectal Cancer Screening, we will honor people who show passion and dedication in their cancer prevention work. Let us look back at past Laurels awards recipients:

Innovative Programs: Lina Jandorf, M.A.
National Leadership: Laura Seeff, M.D.
Advocacy: Susan Shinagawa

Innovative Programs: Diane Dwyer, M.D.
National Leadership: Tim Byers, M.D., M.P.H.
Advocacy: Joe Arite

International Leadership:  Joseph Sung, M.D.
National Leadership:  Claudia Baquet, M.D., M.P.H.
Advocacy:  Anita Mitchell

Innovative Programs:  Claudia Christensen, R.N., F.N.P., C.G.R.N.
National Leadership:  David Lieberman, M.D.
Advocacy:  Amy Kelly

Outstanding Advocacy:  Barry Stein, Esq.
Outstanding National Leadership:  Harold P. Freeman, M.D.
Outstanding Public Service:  Linda Burhansstipanov, M.S.P.H .
Honorary Cancer Prevention Laurel for Education Outreach: Foghorn Leghorn

Dedication to Community Service:  Paul Limberg, M.D., M.P.H.
National Leadership:  Richard Wender, M.D.
Advocacy:  Dale Mintz, M.P.H.
Dedication to Public Service:  Congresswoman Louise Slaughter

Dedication to Public Service:  Nathaniel Cobb, M.D.
Dedication to Community Programs:  Amelie G. Ramirez, Dr.P.H.
National Leadership: Robert A. Smith, Ph.D.
Advocacy:  Cindy Iverson
International Leadership:  Meinhard Classen, M.D. , Paul Rozen, M.D. and Sidney J. Winawer, M.D.

Outstanding Public Service: Ernestine Hambrick, M.D.
Innovation in Communications:  Elmer Huerta, M.D.
Outstanding National Leadership:  Bernard Levin, M.D.
Dedication to Community Programs:  Robert Warren, M.D.

Did you know colorectal cancer is equally common in men and women? If you are age 50 or older or if you are at greater risk, be sure to get screened to prevent cancer.

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Sign up to get the latest about cancer prevention and early detection directly in your inbox.