Annual Gala

Pillar of Jordan pictured; save the date poster for the Prevent Cancer Foundation's annual gala event on September, 27 2023

Jordan: Pillar of Wonder

29th Annual Gala
Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Did you miss the 2022 Prevent Cancer Gala? Watch last year’s program and awards video and the Lighting the Way to prevention video.

The Prevent Cancer Foundation Annual Gala is recognized as one of Washington’s premier events, attracting more than 1,000 guests from business, diplomatic, government, medical, philanthropic, sports and social communities. The gala has consistently ranked among top Washington charity events and is a widely attended event, following all guidelines of the Senate and House.


For more information on the Annual Gala, please contact Lorelei Mitrani at or (703) 519-2102.






Honorary Chair
HRH Princess Ghida Talal 

Honorary Patron
Her Excellency, Ambassador Dina Kawar 

Cancer Champions
Senator Tom Carper and Senator Shelley Moore Capito

Gala Co-Chairs 
Anna Griffin, Jennifer Griffin, and Ted Okon

Honorary Congressional Co-CHAIRS
Chair Mark Warner, Vice Chair Susan Collins, Chair Kay Granger, and Ranking Member Richard Neal.

Gala Executive Committee
Nickie Currie, Kathy ‘Coach’ Kemper, Kathryn Kennedy, Susanna Quinn, Lori Reilly, and Jason VanPelt

Since 2010, the Foundation has honored a cancer champion pioneer at the Gala.
Past awardees have included:

2022Senators Mike Crapo (R-ID) and Michael Bennet (D-CO) and Representatives Terri Sewell (D-AL), Jodey Arrington (R-TX), Raul Ruiz (D-CA) and Richard Hudson (R-NC) for their leadership as the original co-sponsors of the Medicare Multi-Cancer Early Detection Screening Coverage Act of 2021 

2021 – Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) and Representative Debbie Dingell (D-MI) ~ Senator Scott was honored for contributions to cancer prevention and early detection, Sponsorship of the Medicare Multi-Cancer Early Detection Screening Coverage Act of 2021 (S. 1873) and support of lung cancer early detection, minority health awareness and increasing access to affordable health care; Representative Dingell was honored for advocacy of women’s health issues (including breast cancer), founding the National Women’s Health Resource Center, leadership in cancer prevention including the Congressional Cancer Prevention Caucus and support of the 21st Century Cures Act.

2020 – Congresswoman Terri Sewell (D-AL) and Congressman Greg Walden (R-OR) ~ Honored for their contributions to cancer research and quality care; limiting access to tobacco products among adolescents and young adults; advocating for co-testing for cervical cancer screening; and advocating for dedicated funding for FDA, NIH, CDC and NCI.

2019 – Senators Bill Cassidy (R-LA) and Mazie Hirono (D-HI) ~ Honored for their leadership in protecting coverage of services for veterans, seniors and first responders; raising awareness on colorectal cancer, breast cancer, ovarian cancer and hepatitis, a leading cause of liver cancer; limiting access to tobacco products among adolescents and young adults; ensuring transparency in care delivery; and expanding funding for biomedical research in cancer.

2018 – Senators Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Patty Murray (D-WA) ~ Honored for their leadership in protecting the appropriation for the National Institutes of Health, enabling it to continue being the global leader of biomedical research.

2017 – House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) ~ With his support of the 21st Century Cures Act, Leader McCarthy contributed to bipartisan support of this historic effort to speed up the discovery, development and delivery of lifesaving cures.

2016 – Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) and Representative Diana DeGette (D-Colorado) ~ In 2014, Rep. DeGette and Chairman Upton launched the 21st Century Cures initiative, a multi-year effort aiming to bring researchers, industry experts and patients together to speed up the discovery, development and delivery of lifesaving cures.

2015 – Senator Mike Crapo ~ U.S. Senator from Idaho who is a two-time prostate cancer survivor. Senator Crapo collaborated for many years with the Foundation on a signature initiative, a Health Awareness and Screening Booth at the Idaho State Fair. He has also been a champion of legislation that helps advanced progress in cancer research and quality of care for cancer patients.

2014 – Mrs. Ellen Noghès ~ wife of former Ambassador of Monaco Gilles Noghès, a three-time cancer survivor who is focuses her efforts on raising awareness of cancer among the diplomatic community.

2013 – The Honorable Ellen Tauscher ~  For bringing awareness to cancer prevention and early detection by sharing her personal battle with esophageal cancer.

2012 – Congressman Michael Oxley ~ For his work in the advancement of cancer prevention and early detection.
To make a donation for to the Michael G. Oxley Lung Cancer Research Fund, click here.

2011 – Congresswoman Doris Matsui ~ Founder of the Foundation’s Congressional Families Cancer Prevention Program.

2010 – Dr. Elmer Huerta ~ Director of the Cancer Preventorium at Washington Cancer Institute, Washington Hospital Center.  Dr. Huerta founded the low-income prevention and screening clinic in 1994 and continues to use it as a vehicle for reaching the Hispanic/Latino community in the Washington, DC.


2023 Sponsor Levels

For sponsorship information, please contact Lorelei Mitrani at or (703) 519-2102.


Presenting Sponsor









Johnson & Johnson









Bristol Myers Squibb




Duke Energy


FedEx Corporation


National Retailers Foundation






American College of Radiology Association

Community Oncology Alliance

Eisai, Inc.

Guardant Health, Inc.


Jazz Pharmaceuticals

Precision X-Ray, Inc.

Southern Company

Taiho Pharmaceuticals

Texas Oncology




Susan Ahlquist

CGCN Group

David Spence Cancer Foundation

The Duberstein Group, Inc.

Edison Electric Institute

Exact Sciences Corporation

Farragut Partners


Houser Family Foundation

Shabnam Kazmi

Penn Quarter Partners

Joann Piccolo and Tim Carmody

Public Interest Registry (PIR) 

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA)

US Telecom – The Broadband Association

George York and Kevin Gooch



A silent auction benefitting cancer research fellowships and community outreach will be held the evening of the event.

For further information or questions, please contact Amanda Wallach at

Sign up to get the latest about cancer prevention and early detection directly in your inbox.