Annual Gala

The Kingdom of the Netherlands:  A Virtual Masterpiece in Bloom

26th Annual Gala
Thursday, September 10, 2020

Thank you for helping us raise more than $1.5 million!

The Kingdom of the Netherlands:  A Virtual Masterpiece in Bloom

8:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. EDT (Livestreamed Event)

Watch the full 2020 Gala video

Evening Program[PDF]

  • Emcee Jennifer Griffin
  • Welcome and tribute to 2020 Cancer Champions
    Representatives Terri Sewell and Greg Walden
    Carolyn Aldigé
  • A toast to the success of the evening
    His Excellency, the Ambassador of the Netherlands, André Haspels
  • Performances and stories from actors, musicians and survivors
    · Alejandro Escovedo, singer/songwriter
    · Ernie Hudson, actor
    · Ali Rogin, author and PBS producer
    · Max Weinberg, bandleader/drummer for E Street Band
    · Lauren Daigle, Grammy award-winning singer/songwriter
    · Sheppard, band
    · 311, band
    · Luis Guzmán, actor/comedian
    · Jeremy Ragsdale, musician/singer, winner of X-Factor
  • “Lighting the Way to Prevention”
    A brief video about stage III ovarian cancer survivor Susanna Quinn, featuring Rob Lowe, Dana Bash, Kristin Cecchi, Nancy Cordes, Stephanie Cutter, Jamie Dorros, Jennifer Griffin, Whitfield Growdon, M.D., Norah O’Donnell, Tara Patten and Elizabeth Thorp. 

We are mindful that cancer doesn’t stop during a pandemic and more than 1.6 million people will hear those words “You have cancer,” this year alone. So, your support is even more crucial during this time. Proceeds from the Gala will continue to support the Foundation’s grants programs – both research grants and fellowships and community outreach grants.  And they will be used for a new campaign, “Back on the Books,” to remind people to reschedule their postponed or cancelled screenings.

*Tickets for this virtual event are FREE and available through the registration link at the top of this page. If you previously purchased a ticket or table sponsorship for the in-person event, it will be automatically transferred to the virtual event and you will receive modified benefits that coincide with your original sponsorship level. Gala sponsorships are still available. If you would like more information on the Gala, tickets or sponsorships please contact Lorelei Mitrani at or (703) 519-2102.

Since 2010, the Foundation has honored a cancer champion pioneer at the Gala. Past awardees have included:

2020 – Congresswoman Terri Sewell (D-AL) and Congressman Greg Walden (R-OR) ~ Honored for their contributions to cancer research and quality care; limiting access to tobacco products among adolescents and young adults; advocating for co-testing for cervical cancer screening; and advocating for dedicated funding for FDA, NIH, CDC and NCI.

2019 – Senators Bill Cassidy (R-LA) and Mazie Hirono (D-HI) ~ Honored for their leadership in protecting coverage of services for veterans, seniors and first responders; raising awareness on colorectal cancer, breast cancer, ovarian cancer and hepatitis, a leading cause of liver cancer; limiting access to tobacco products among adolescents and young adults; ensuring transparency in care delivery; and expanding funding for biomedical research in cancer.

2018 – Senators Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Patty Murray (D-WA) ~ Honored for their leadership in protecting the appropriation for the National Institutes of Health, enabling it to continue being the global leader of biomedical research.

2017 – House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) ~ With his support of the 21st Century Cures Act, Leader McCarthy contributed to bipartisan support of this historic effort to speed up the discovery, development and delivery of lifesaving cures.

2016 – Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) and Representative Diana DeGette (D-Colorado) ~ In 2014, Rep. DeGette and Chairman Upton launched the 21st Century Cures initiative, a multi-year effort aiming to bring researchers, industry experts and patients together to speed up the discovery, development and delivery of lifesaving cures.

2015 – Senator Mike Crapo ~ U.S. Senator from Idaho who is a two-time prostate cancer survivor. Senator Crapo collaborated for many years with the Foundation on a signature initiative, a Health Awareness and Screening Booth at the Idaho State Fair. He has also been a champion of legislation that helps advanced progress in cancer research and quality of care for cancer patients.

2014 – Mrs. Ellen Noghès ~ wife of former Ambassador of Monaco Gilles Noghès, a three-time cancer survivor who is focuses her efforts on raising awareness of cancer among the diplomatic community.

2013 – The Honorable Ellen Tauscher ~  For bringing awareness to cancer prevention and early detection by sharing her personal battle with esophageal cancer.

2012 – Congressman Michael Oxley ~ For his work in the advancement of cancer prevention and early detection.
To make a donation for to the Michael G. Oxley Lung Cancer Research Fund, click here.

2011 – Congresswoman Doris Matsui ~ Founder of the Foundation’s Congressional Families Cancer Prevention Program.

2010 – Dr. Elmer Huerta ~ Director of the Cancer Preventorium at Washington Cancer Institute, Washington Hospital Center.  Dr. Huerta founded the low-income prevention and screening clinic in 1994 and continues to use it as a vehicle for reaching the Hispanic/Latino community in the Washington, DC.

Sponsorships for the 2020 Virtual Gala are available. To join us as a 2020 sponsor or for updated benefit information, please contact Lorelei Mitrani at or (703) 519-2102.

Thank you to our 2020 Annual Spring Gala sponsors!


Premier Benefactor

Community Oncology Associates






Shure Family Charitable Foundation







Bank of America

Bristol Myers Squibb


Lilly Oncology





NRF - National Retail Federation


SoftBank Group


Patron Plus




Daiichi Sankyo Cancer Enterprise

Exact Sciences

Florida Cancer Specialists



Johnson & Johnson

William Magner


McKesson Corporation

MorphoSys US, Inc.

Lynne and Greg O’Brien/Line in the Sand

Southern Company

Taiho Pharmaceuticals





Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, LLP

American College of Radiology


Avalere Health

The Boeing Company

Capitol Counsel

Clark, Geduldig, Cranford & Neilsen (CGCN)

Comcast NBC Universal


Edison Electric Institute

Exxon Mobil

Farragut Partners

The Hon. Victor Fazio and Kathy Sawyer

Flatiron Health, Inc.

Fox News Media


Heron Therapeutics


Houser Family Foundation

Interstate Natural Gas Association of America

Mr. and Mrs. Joel Jankowsky

Juliet Rosenthal Foundation

New York Cancer & Blood Specialists

New York Life

Northrop Grumman

Oregon Oncology Alliance

Ambassador Yousef Al Otaiba

Jennifer and Ron Christie

Joann Piccolo and Tim Carmody

Sanofi US

Sazerac Company

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association

Susanna and Jack Quinn

Tarplin, Downs & Young, LLC 

Tennessee Oncology

Thrive Earlier Detection



USTelecom – The Broadband Association



Biotechnology Industry Organization

Brock Landry and Diane Casey-Landry

Crossroad Strategies

Former Congressman and Mrs. Gene Green



J. Wilson Advisors

Jeanne Weaver Ruesch

Lincoln Policy Group

Nuclear Energy Institute

PNC Bank

Precision X-Ray

TE Connectivity

Texas Oncology


For information on Gala sponsorship opportunities, please contact Lorelei Mitrani at or (703) 519-2102.

Join now to keep up with the latest in cancer prevention and early detection